FISH 10K Race is for Runners of all Ages!

The 10K Race 4 F.I.S.H., scheduled for October 22nd, is a  major fundraising event planned for FISH OF SANCAP and will be held at the Sanibel Community House, 2173 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel in conjunction with the Fort Myers Track Club, with a 7:30a.m. start.  Returning this year is the ‘Kids Run’ where children age 10 or under may participate in the festivities. Participants must have parental permission and there is no fee for children to participate in the run. It is offered as an untimed, short fun run around cones in the Community Park meant to encourage fitness and being active and scheduled for 9:-10:00am. Participants will receive ribbons and Joey’s Custard upon completion. All participants must register through the online registration form at the Fort Myers Track Club, 

“We are excited that FISH is able to host a community event, and that we can include a family component to the race by offering the Kids Run in the Community Park. A special thank you to Joey’s Custard for providing a delicious treat to the kids afterwards,” says Nicole McHale, 10K Committee Co-Chair.

FISH OF SANCAP is the leading non-profit, non-sectarian human services organization focused on “neighbors helping neighbors” on Sanibel and Captiva, and was founded 40 years ago.  As a wrap-around service provider, when individuals or families come to FISH for the first time, they speak with a staff member to determine their specific needs and to learn about other FISH programs that can put them on a pathway to self-sustainability. Programs, including food and financial assistance with rent or medical bills; senior programs to prevent isolation and other supports for aging-in-place and more provide something for everyone. For additional information on the FISH organization, contact Maria Espinoza, Executive Director at 239-472-4775 or visit their website at

For additional information on the 10K Race or if you are interested in sponsoring the event, please contact Nicole McHale at or Diane Cortese at, Race Committee Chairs.